Loading 活動

« 所有活動

  • 此活動已過去

夏日插曲 2020

詳情

開始:
2020年08月19日
結束:
2020年09月19日
活動類別:
, , , ,
網站:
http://cbal.com.hk/art/zh-hant/artists/%e5%a4%8f%e6%97%a5%e6%8f%92%e6%9b%b2-2020/

Contemporary by Angela Li欣然呈獻夏季插曲2020聯展展出藝術家香建峰、關四方、陳惠立、劉兆聰、梁凱雅、廖一白、李洪波、呂山川、吳松、彼得‧斯坦豪爾、黃進曦、黃欣欣、吳笛笛、圓大西和阮家儀的一系列作品。展覽通過繪畫,攝影,雕塑和裝置等各種媒介,展示了每個藝術家的不同藝術實踐和探索。

 

香建峰以明快富現代感的色彩繪畫動物及風景,探討自然、生命與城市的平衡及衝突。今次展出的《兩生鳥》就描述兩隻在「小鴉洲」小島相遇的鳥,它們面對自然和都市的抉擇,觀望未來迥異的命運。

 

近年關四方以創作水泥雕塑為主。她在工作室的天台農莊栽種植物,包括日常食用的蔬果,然後把果實倒模轉化成水泥雕塑,在石屎森林中進行有機生物與建築材料的輪迴,探討自然與城市的共生。今次展出的包括豆角、南瓜、馬鈴薯及葫蘆瓜等,把尋常瓜果化身富水墨味的當代藝術。

 

陳惠立近期的創作取態從以往評論其過去的經歷轉移到探討其當刻的内心狀態。由於熱愛游泳,陳開始將此興趣的元素融入其作品之中。陳首先嘗試以數算不同游泳池的地磚,並在紙張上重構,來記錄一個其兒時常去的公衆游泳池,而游泳池的空間為陳提供了一個沉澱思緒及創作伸延的渠道。

 

疫情期間興起行山熱,劉兆聰工作室附近一座小小的嘉頓山也忽然擠滿人,這一時奇景成為了油畫作品《行山熱》。其繪畫主題側重於自身與其生活環境,喜歡繪畫與自己生活有關的城市景觀。對他而言,記憶像是長期曝光下的照片,重重複複的經歷,呈現出物象在一個時期而非一瞬間的表現。於是從作品的複合和抽象表現,繪畫便成為記憶混合後的生活體驗。

 

梁凱雅創作以繪畫和物料探索為主。她喜歡繪畫能讓人留有含糊的狀態,放任意識遊走於有與無之間,既可依靠感覺而行,憑空想像、又隨時能喚來理性,整理畫面。 而透過與物料互動,則讓她能表達不想直白的情感種種。兩種手法分別給予她具象與抽象的敘事體驗,從而建構一個屬個人幻想卻又與現實相連的空間。

 

廖一百的不銹鋼雕塑展現光線之間折射的魅力,令人聯想起畫家泰納的作品。一百的作品及工作室充滿童真,可是細看之下他的不銹鋼天使反映著光與影,以及周圍環境的影象,這意味著真實的世界被扭曲,有時,並不完美。他的作品是廖一百自己的回憶及經歷,他以第一身目擊者身份,讓作品賦予了社會政治感染力,同時為金屬作品加添內在情感。

 

李洪波的作品滲透著濃厚的當代感。利用素材的展性,他的雕塑啟發欣賞者以創新的思維思考,以及展示世界的荒誕和當代人的心理迷茫。從中國傳統製作「紙葫蘆」的工藝找到可塑性,李洪波把具文化與歷史意涵的素材伸縮至不同形態,透過挑戰既有概念讓觀賞者重新思考現實世界的模糊性。紙張與刀片在藝術家的雙手幻化成一個又一個生動的雕塑,敘說著動人的故事。不論是紙造雕塑人像又抑或是紙造樹模型,這些都是藝術家對當代現實的理解。

 

呂山川以新聞媒體圖片為素材來探索不同社會事件之間的相互關係。透過從新聞得到的啟示,藝術家關注不同的政治、權力、社會關係之意識形態。新舊聞的圖片在畫布上層層堆疊描繪,形成一幅幅巨大而厚重的油畫。近看下呂山川的畫作給予觀賞者一種混沌、混亂的感覺,但當觀賞者退後一步,畫面的規律和意義便慢慢開始浮現,這種迷失到理解的過程成為了閱讀呂山川畫作中重要的一環。

 

瓶子油畫是吳松的標誌性系列。他在位於蘭桂坊中心地帶的工作室為葡萄酒瓶作畫了二十多年,瓶子不知不覺成為他繪畫中經常反覆出現的對象。那不僅是源於他對酒的情有獨鍾,更是因為酒瓶演變成一種表達性的「象徵」,讓藝術家透過繪畫過程來尋找個人身份認同。而靜物花系作品則在柔和的色彩和色調之間保持了謹慎的平衡。這些畫作看似簡單卻又慎重,筆觸間散發出絲絲的寂寞孤獨情感和沈思,與瓶子系列形成迥然不同的對比。

 

彼得斯坦豪爾於九十年代初第一次訪港,其視線便離不開建築物外那不同顏色的棚架。起初,他以為這些用布料包起的建築物是著名環境裝置藝術家夫婦克里斯托及珍妮克勞德(Christo and Jeanne-Claude)的作品。後來,斯坦豪爾得知這是香港獨特的建築方式。至此,斯坦豪爾開始以鮮有的角度記錄香港的城市景觀。繭 的命名象徵建築物從興建到落成的蛻變,舊有的大廈從殘舊的外牆到翻新後煥然一新的改變,就像毛蟲變成蝴蝶的過程,破繭而出。

 

80後的黃進曦專門描繪本地風景,寫生足跡遍佈香港郊野,筆下風光明媚的景致滲透著藝術家對大自然的熱情。他把在畫布上繪畫景物的過程視為一段新的遊歴,回溯著主觀記憶和寫生紀錄的痕跡,展出的作品《崖上的畫家》更把畫家置於境中,從另一視點反思個人的存在。

 

年輕藝術家黃欣欣以繽紛的色彩構建虛幻的自然空間,偶爾與城市交集,時而穿梭著鮮豔奪目的蜂鳥。畫作《模擬城市》的蜂鳥囚在籠中,意喻對自然的渴望。優美的圖案和小動物常見在她的作品中,她在畫上的一筆一劃猶如一呼一吸,繽紛夢幻的色彩展現著她對創作的熱情。願觀看畫作的人能在黃欣欣的畫中暫時忘記生活的煩憂與失落,沉醉於歡欣的色彩之中。

 

吳笛笛的作品取材藤蔓、竹子、石頭、昆蟲和雜草,自然中最純淨簡單的物質。她的作品處於超寫實和抽象的臨界點;傳統中國藝術雖然一直沒有出現過純抽象繪畫,但中國卻有非常極致的抽象審美系統:藝術家畫面的背景是運用反覆上色的手法層迭出宋代汝窯抽象審美的意味,而在結構上可以追溯到書法裡。她賦予畫中物新的符號和獨有的身份,呈現藝術家看待人性的精神思維和她在創作過程中近乎冥想的狀態。

 

圓大西的油畫作品,創作核心圍繞著個體深處的召喚,每一筆觸都是隨心而出,隨意而發。畫面擺脫了圖像或個別藝術話語的解說,並以最純粹的方式表達藝術家的情感和哲學思想。作品上隨意的粗糙紋理不規則地覆蓋著畫面,流露出藝術家的思維能量轉移,從清醒的意識狀態進入另一個精神領域。圓大西的抽象油畫仿如一面鏡子般,反映出藝術家在創作過程中的思維導圖的歷程。

 

阮家儀用家庭式老店舖收集回來的舊式塑膠物件建造香港的天際線,這些塑膠玩具和文具代表了香港五、六十年代曾經輝煌的製造業時代。每件物件都是一個時代標誌,是一道微縮風景,是香港各行各業努力及奮鬥的歷史記錄。

 

預約私人觀賞時間:電郵至[email protected]或致電+852 3571 8200


2019冠狀病毒病預防措施-

為確保員工和參觀者的健康,我們在展覽期間將採取以下安全預防措施:

  • 參觀者必須在進入畫廊前戴

地點

其他活動

魏東:十字坡

WEI DONG: THE CROSSROADS

畫廊: 漢雅軒

藝術家: 魏東

開幕日期: 27 Sep, 2019

閉幕日期: 2 Nov, 2020

「蘋果花花3」甘志強:亞洲協會香港中心x香港畫廊協會雕塑藝術展

IMG-20200324-WA0013

畫廊: 藝倡畫廊

藝術家: 甘志強

開幕日期: 26 Mar, 2020

閉幕日期: 27 Sep, 2020

頌讚香港藝術

irene chou

畫廊: 藝倡畫廊

藝術家: 卓家慧, 周綠雲 , 朱興華, 徐子雄, 方召麐, 馮明秋, 何冠廷, 韓志勳, 許開嬌, 熊海, 靳埭強, 高杏娟, 江啟明, 甘志強, 賴恬昌, 李展輝, 李慧嫻, 凌佩詩, 呂豐雅, 呂壽琨, 麥翠影, 文鳳儀, 莫一新, 朱楚珠, 黄麗貞, 王無邪, 張小黎

開幕日期: 11 Jun, 2020

閉幕日期: 26 Sep, 2020

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Summer Interlude 2020

Exhibition details

Start:
19 August, 2020
End:
19 September, 2020
Event Category:
, , , ,
Website:
http://cbal.com.hk/art/artists/summer-interlude-2020/

Contemporary by Angela Li is pleased to present Summer Interlude 2020, showcasing a range of works by 15 artists – Alex Heung Kin Fung, Tenme Kwan Sze Fong, Chan Wai Lap, Lonely Lau Siu Chung, Livy Leung, Liao Yibai, Li Hongbo, Lv Shanchuan, Ng Chung, Peter Steinhauer, Wong Chun Hei, Wong Yan Yan, Wu Didi, Yuan Daxi and Angela Yuen. The exhibition represents different artistic practices and explorations by each artist through various media including painting, photography, sculpture, and installation. Summer Interlude 2020 is on view from August 19 – September 19, 2020.

 

Alex Heung Kin Fung specializes in richly coloured paintings of animals and landscapes that explore the balance and conflict between nature, life and the city. A painting entitled The Double Life of Birds tells a story of two birds encountering one another on Siu A Chau as they face the crossroad of deciding between nature and the city, which would potentially lead to polarising destinies.

 

In recent years, Tenme Kwan Sze Fong focuses on exploring the relationships between urban and nature through the use of concrete as her medium. She casts home grown harvests such as fruits and vegetables into cement sculptures in an urban farm beside her rooftop studio, alternating organic life and construction materials within a concrete jungle and investigating the co-existence of nature and city. This exhibition includes sculptures of string beans, potatoes and pumpkins, turning normal fruits and vegetables into contemporary art with a hint of the feeling of ink art.

 

With his interest in swimming, Chan Wai Lap attempts to recreate his interest from his life into drawings. He began documenting the public pool that he used to visit since his childhood by counting the tiles; he then repeated this counting process with many other public pools in Hong Kong, and finally he reconstructed these pools into 2D formats – drawings – often in interesting perspectives.

 

The studio of Lonely Lau Siu Chung is right by Garden Hill, and this small hilltop was suddenly packed with hikers during the epidemic. This unusual scene of packed crowds became Lau’s inspiration to create his oil painting The Hiking Fever. His paintings mainly focus on his living environment while the themes of his works are usually based on his life related to cityscape. To Lau, memories are like repeated experiences captured on long exposure photographs, with images representing periods of time rather than one fleeting moment.  In this sense, his paintings are complex and abstract expressions mixed with his memories and life experiences.

 

Livy Leung focuses on drawing, painting and material exploration, these mediums provide her different experiences in making interesting narratives.  Drawing and painting allow her to explore the interplay between consciousness and unconsciousness. While the use of materials helps her to express the ineffable emotions. Mismatched elements in daily life always intrigue Livy to construct a world between reality and her personal fantasy. She recomposes her thoughts towards different incidents happening around her and amplifies her imaginary world as a form of expression and self-indulgence within her art practice.

 

Liao Yibai’s steel sculptures demonstrate a fascination with light, refraction and reflection, reminiscent of a Turner painting.  When one looks at the interplay with time and space there is a sense of childish abandon to his works in the gallery space. However, upon closer inspection, the reflections and play of light on his stainless-steel angels present a mirror image of the viewer or the environment in which it lies. They provide a reality reflected back that is a little bruised and sometimes not as beautiful. They also contain Liao’s personal experiences and memories, seething with socio-political first-hand observations which make the art more powerful, with a visceral dimension in his metallic creatures.

 

Li Hongbo’s concepts are distinctly contemporary. Exploring the malleability of materials, his sculptures command viewers to think out of the box, while at the same time echoing the absurdities of the world and the confusion of its inhabitants. His expendable paper sculptures are inspired by the traditional Chinese folk craft of ‘paper gourd’; Li molds materials with long history and infinite cultural attributes into different shapes, sizes, and directions. These remarkable paper sculptures are living, performing tales by the artist’s hand. From a tree made out of paper to human figures made out of textbooks, Li’s artworks serve as cultural narratives that illuminate the artist’s perception of reality.

 

Lv Shanchuan uses images from the news to look into the connections between different social incidents and to also investigate the political and social ideologies that shape different relationships within today’s societies. Layer by layer, the artist reinterprets news of the past and present with thick paint on the canvases. When viewed up close, the paintings give a sense of chaos. Yet when the viewer steps back and looks at them from afar, there is remarkable reasoning and order behind all the apparent disorder, and this sense of reasoning and order is the core driver of his paintings.

 

Bottle paintings belong to an iconic series of Ng Chung, a subject matter that has been painted by the artist for more than two decades from his studio situated in the heart of Lan Kwai Fong. Bottles have become his recurring objects of his paintings because of his sentiment for alcohol, and have also transformed into a ‘symbol’ for expression and the painting process as a journey in search of the artist’s personal identity. On the contrary, his floral still-life paintings employ a careful balance of subdued colours and tones. The paintings are deceptively simple and discreet, evoking a sense of loneliness and pensiveness.

 

Upon Peter Steinhauer’s first arrival in Hong Kong in the early 1990s, he was captivated by the sight of bamboo-caged buildings wrapped in colourful fabric. He immediately associated these structures with the installations of the late artist duo Christo and Jeanne Claude. When Steinhauer later learnt that these interesting ‘wrappings’ are a unique construction method of Hong Kong, he began documenting Hong Kong cityscape with fascination. The series name “Cocoons” refers to the metamorphosis stage of the buildings, from caterpillar to butterfly, from architectural site to a brand-new building.

 

Born in the 80’s, plein air landscapes are the essence of Stephen Chun Hei Wong’s paintings. Wong’s paintings are his personal visual diary, documenting his love for the nature and his visual experience throughout his hikes in Hong Kong. In one of the works in the exhibition The Painter by the Cliff, Wong painted himself in the background, pondering the meaning of individual existence from another point of view.

 

Emerging young artist Wong Yan Yan is inspired by the beauty of patterns and fascinating objects, both often seen in her artwork. She is fascinated by the idea of breathing life into an empty canvas through the process of painting. Each stroke of paint on the canvas is another breath given to a new life. This satisfaction of creation fuels her passion for painting. Yan expresses her work in a fantastical way, often overlapping cityscapes and her imaginary dimensions in her brilliantly coloured paintings. She hopes people can forget their troubles and displeasures when they see her artworks and feel the joyful atmosphere. Through her artwork, Yan aims to lead her audiences on a journey between the fabrics of reality and fantasy.

 

Wu Didi draws the subject matter of her paintings from the simplest elements of nature, such as vines, bamboo, stones, insects and weed, and her paintings lie between hyper-realism and abstraction. Although pure abstraction never appeared in traditional Chinese art, there is however a well-defined system to appreciate abstract art; as Didi applies layers and layers of paint to the canvas background, she creates a resulting effect reminiscent of celadon glazes, of which the aesthetic traces back to the appreciation of abstraction and the structure refers to that of Chinese calligraphy. In this sense, she gives each of her subjects a new life and unique identity, with the painting serving as the artist’s poetic study to examine spirituality in humanity as well as her own meditative process during the long creative process.

 

Yuan Daxi’s abstract oil painting is created intuitively from the depths of his inner self, each brushstroke is guided by his impulse in the purest way to express his emotions and philosophical thoughts without recognizable imagery and artistic discourse. Heavy textures scattered around the canvas unfold the artist’s mind, shifting from awareness to a spiritual state. Both sculptural and painterly, these paintings serve as mirrors that reflect the artist’s transcendent journeys at the time of creation.

 

In Angela Yuen’s installations, she constructs miniature Hong Kong skylines assembled from manufactured plastic objects which she sources from local family-owned stores. These old-fashioned plastic toys and stationery represent a significant era of the golden heyday of Hong Kong’s manufacturing industries in the 1950s and 60s. Each object is a symbolic representation of an era, a miniature of our urban landscape, and a historical record of the devotion and perseverance of a certain generation in Hong Kong.

 

 

Private Viewing Session: by email at [email protected] or call 3571 8200


Covid-19 Precautions:-

To ensure the health and wellbeing of our staff and guests, we are taking the following safety precautions in our gallery:

  • Visitors must wear face masks the whole time in the gallery and have their temperatures checked by our staff upon arrival at the gallery.
  • Hand sanitizer will be provided at the gallery’s reception for visitors to use.

Venue

Other Events

EXHIBITION – THE STILLNESS WITHIN

Evite-02

Gallery: 10 Chancery Lane Gallery

Artist(s): nothermountainman x Shuho, Cang Xin, Huang Rui, Gerry Li, Fiona Pardington, RongRong & inri, Manit Sriwanichpoom and John Thomson

Opening / Event Date: 11 Jun, 2020

Closing / End Date: 11 Oct, 2020

Exhibition: Lorna Simpson. Special Characters

明媚
2020
墨水 絲網印刷 石膏玻璃纖維
170.2 x 127 x 3.5 厘米 / 67 x 50 x 1 3/8 英寸

Gallery: Hauser & Wirth

Artist(s): Lorna Simpson

Opening / Event Date: 16 Jun, 2020

Closing / End Date: 30 Sep, 2020

Hong Kong ・Home Kong

Website banner 3 final

Gallery: Galerie KOO

Opening / Event Date: 8 Aug, 2020

Closing / End Date: 30 Sep, 2020