Loading 活動

« 所有活動

  • 此活動已過去

李青個人項目 | 12.20.2016 – 1.25.2017

詳情

開幕日期:
2016年12月20日
時間:
6:00 pm - 8:00 pm
閉幕日期:
2017年01月25日
活動類別:
網站:
http://www.tangcontemporary.com

當代唐人藝術中心榮幸地宣布,將於12月20日在香港空間推出“李青個人項目”,由崔灿灿擔任策展人。此項目緣起於藝術家以他者的身份,重新討論這座城市的歷史與今日之間的對話關係。藝術家對香港的紛雜記憶,浮光掠影式的片刻印象,成為創作的素材,通過繪畫、裝置、影像之間的交互與映射,重組一個新的視覺感知系統。有趣的是,在本次項目中,策展人與藝術家經過一年的討論,分別用文本與視覺的方式展開互動。藝術家從策展人2016年在社交網絡中發布的文字挑選編排,組成一篇由藝術家創作的前言。

《鄰窗》是李青創作線索中一個重要係列,他把窗子的實物與窗外繪畫結合,讓觀者與景物之間形成虛擬的相鄰相望。在香港的個人項目中,李青選擇“榮發”、“凱旋”、“甜”等霓虹燈字作為窗外景觀。這些字樣取自日常的香港街頭,也源於這裡的過去,它們是大陸對於香港最為典型性的城市印象。與此同時,這些線索又被今日之目光重新審視,它的功能、屬性、意義在時間中發生偏移,似曾相識,卻又因時空的轉化而逐漸模糊,不確定的感知被陌生化的視覺所喚起。

對於80年代出生的李青來說,香港電影承載了這一代人對香港文化的特殊記憶。港片中對於都市題材的描摹,開啟了大陸人對現代生活的最初認識。彼時的香港情色電影也處於市場的高峰,這些風月片是他們在成長階段,越過禁忌認識世界的一扇特殊窗口。繪畫作品《兩場電影》讓海邊的露天電影中出現情色鏡頭,最私密的表演向最廣闊的自然敞開。在短暫的規則限制與自然的無限之間,我們尋覓到藝術家所隱喻的人的踪影,一個在分裂、對峙之間的主體。像是不斷被加工的CD,記憶總是被情景修飾,也因情景指向截然不同的含義。

海,一切變遷之外的永恆。海浪、游魚、徐徐駛來的船隻和遠方的天際線,它們是在城市中生活的人們暫離現實的出口,也是人們寄託於某種未知的途徑與載體。錄像作品《海》拼接了各種各樣的人物面向大海的鏡頭,這些鏡頭來自全世界不同類型的電影,故事既沒有開頭,也沒有結尾,它只包含自身以及自身所企及的希望。海、面向海和走向海的人成為一套層疊的符號,在抽離了原有語境之後,呈現出世事紛繁之下人類內在精神的相似。

霓虹燈、電影、海……這幾種元素在李青的作品中交疊出現,文字與圖像在不同的上下文中,呈現出不同的語義,也因語義的錯置,它們之間的複雜關係,共同交織成李青對於香港或是記憶、情景本身的評議。亦如展覽的前言,當策展人與藝術家的關係發生逆轉時,在這個別樣的時刻,一種習以為常的認識亦或記憶,走向它全新的狀態。在藝術家一系列的動作背後,我們需要尋找的,正是這個展覽的深意,一種認識在不同的時空中經歷了什麼,又因什麼而轉變,又是什麼樣的導致了這種認識的轉變,這種轉變又意味著何種可能?

 

 

 

關於藝術家

 

李青,1981年出生於浙江湖州,現居上海、杭州。他的繪畫、裝置和影像作品往往在相似性和矛盾中尋找理性的裂隙,通過迂迴重疊的結構作用於觀者的感覺和認知。李青近年來的創作追踪廣泛發生在信息傳播、集體記憶和知識經驗中的歷史碎片化和意識形態衝突。對日常空間和圖像中的微觀政治的捕捉,對美學傳統當中的政治身份的質疑,對中國藝術在國際藝術語境之下的身份問題的觀察,使他身上體現出年輕一代中國藝術家身上罕見的歷史意識。

李青於2007年畢業於中國美術學院油畫系。曾在阿拉里奧美術館,首爾,韓國;歌德開放空間,上海,中國;Tomas y Valiente藝術中心,馬德里,西班牙等機構舉辦過精彩的個展。同時參加過許多著名藝術機構的群展,如上海雙年展;威尼斯雙年展特別邀請展;福岡亞洲美術館,福岡,日本;聖保羅當代美術館,聖保羅,巴西;舊金山亞洲藝術博物館,舊金山,美國;印尼國家美術館,雅加達,印尼等。他的作品也被很多藝術機構及基金會納入收藏,例如德意志銀行,德國;瓦倫西亞現代藝術博物館,瓦倫西亞;龍美術館,上海,中國;余德耀美術館,上海,中國;DSL基金會,巴黎,法國;阿拉里奧美術館,首爾/濟州,韓國;四方當代美術館,南京,中國; 喜馬拉雅美術館,上海,中國; 等。

 

 

關於策展人

崔灿灿是一名活躍在中國的獨立策劃人,曾獲CCAA中國當代藝術評論青年榮譽獎,《YISHU》典藏海外版中國當代藝術批評獎,《藝術財經》年度成長獎等,並擔任第十三屆卡塞爾文獻展特約觀察員,策劃的主要展覽包括夜走黑橋(2013)、FUCKOFF II (2013)、不在圖像中行動(2014)、六環比五環多一環(2015)、艾未未個展(2015 )等。

 

地點

其他活動

明彩:嶋本昭三 x AU

嶋本昭三, 無題 SHIM-124, 壓克力、漆、於畫布 Shozo Shimamoto, Untitled SHIM-124, Acrylic, paint, on canvas 160.1 x 196.3cm 1965

Gallery: 白石畫廊

藝術家: 嶋本昭三, AU

開幕日期: 3 Oct, 2019

閉幕日期: 17 Nov, 2019

青綠 – 尹朝陽新作展

poster

Gallery: 當代唐人藝術中心

藝術家: 尹朝陽

開幕日期: 4 Oct, 2019

閉幕日期: 16 Nov, 2019

「感知」—— 康雁屏及嚴秉泉的當代水墨藝術新概念

Perception_IG-01

Gallery: 盈鑾畫廊

藝術家: 康雁屏及嚴秉泉

開幕日期: 22 Oct, 2019

閉幕日期: 2 Dec, 2019

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Li Qing Solo Project | 12.20.2016 – 1.25.2017

Exhibition details

Opening / Event Date:
20 December, 2016
Time:
6:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Closing / End Date:
25 January, 2017
Event Category:
Website:
http://www.tangcontemporary.com

Tang Contemporary Art is proud to announce that “Li Qing Solo Project,” curated by Cui Cancan, will open on December 20 in the Hong Kong space. Beginning with the artist’s identity as an Other, this project reflects on the dialogue between past and present in Hong Kong. The artist’s complex memories of Hong Kong and superficial, fragmentary impressions become creative materials in his work. Through the interaction and refraction of painting, installation, and video, Li constructs a new system of visual perception. In the one-year discussion between the curator and the artist about the project, they interacted through both textual and visual means. The artist chose and arranged phrases that the curator had published on social media during 2016, in order to compose an artist-created preface.

Neighbor’s Window is an important series in Li Qing’s creative explorations. He brings together physical window frames and paintings of scenes outside the window, creating a fictional interaction between the viewer and the scenery. In this personal project in Hong Kong, Li Qing chose the Chinese characters for “Emanating Glory,” “Returning Triumphant,” and “Sweet,” as well as other neon lights as the scenes outside the window. These characters were taken from everyday Hong Kong streets and Hong Kong’s past. They are mainlanders’ typical impressions of cities such as Hong Kong. Re-examining these explorations from the perspective of the present, their functions, properties, and meanings have shifted in time; they seem familiar, but they have become less distinct due to the shift in time and space. Feelings of uncertainty are aroused by these alienated visions.

Li Qing was born in the 1980s, and Hong Kong films carry special memories of Hong Kong culture for people of his generation. The depiction of urban subjects in Hong Kong films gave mainland viewers their first taste of modern life. Hong Kong erotic films from that time were very popular; they were a special window that allowed young people to transcend taboos and see the world. In Two Films, erotic scenes appear amidst an open-air film by the sea, opening the most private of performances to the vastness of nature. Between short-lived rules and the infinite expanse of nature, we look for the traces of the people that the artist suggests, a subject that lies between division and confrontation. Like a CD that is continually reworked, memory is embellished by circumstances, presenting different meanings because of these circumstances.

The sea is an eternity beyond all change. Waves, fish, shuttling boats, and the distant horizon are an outlet, allowing people living in cities to temporarily escape reality, but it is also a vehicle for the unknowns in people’s lives. The video work Sea collages scenes of various figures facing the sea; these scenes come from different types of films from around the world. The story has no beginning and no end; it only contains itself and its own hopes. The sea and those who confront it constitute a set of layered symbols. Removed from their original context, they present humanity’s intrinsic spiritual similitude in a complex world.

Neon lights, films, and the sea overlap in Li Qing’s work; in different contexts, texts and pictures present different semantic meanings and become dislocated because of these semantic meanings. The complex relationships between them are knitted together into Li Qing’s appraisal of memory and scenery in Hong Kong. As he says in the exhibition preface, in the moment that the relationship between the curator and the artist is reversed, the customary understanding or memory moves toward a new state. We must seek out the deeper meaning of this exhibition behind the artist’s actions. What processes does a mode of understanding undergo in different times and places, why does this understanding change, what causes it to change, and what possibilities does this change imply?

 

ABOUT THE ARTIST

Li Qing was born 1981 in Huzhou, Zhejiang. He now lives and works in Shanghai, Hangzhou. His paintings, installations and video works often find the cracks of reason between similarity and contradiction, through a circuitously overlapping structural effect on the viewer’s perception and cognition. Li Qing’s recent works investigate a ubiquitous fragmentation of historical memory and a widespread conflict of ideologies appearing in a variety of fields from media communications to public memory. Li’s work is embedded with a historical awareness that distinguishes him from the other young contemporary Chinese artists. The artist questions identity politics embroiled in mundane objects and aesthetic traditions, and explores the conflicted identity of Chinese art within international art discourses.

Li Qing graduated from the Oil Painting Department of China Academy of Art in 2007. He has had solo shows at Arario Museum, Seoul, Korea; Goethe Institute, Shanghai, China; Tomás y Valiente Art Centre, Madrid, Spain, among others. A number of prestigious art institutes have also included his works for group shows, such as Shanghai Biennale; The 55th Biennale Di Venezia Special Invitation Exhibition; Fukuoka Asian Art Museum, Fukuoka, Japan; São Paulo Museum of Contemporary Art, São Paulo, Brasil; Asian Art Museum of San Francisco, San Francisco, USA; National Gallery of Indonesia, Jakarta, Indonesia; etc. His works are collected by many art institutes and foundations, such as Deutsche Bank, Germany; Institut Valencia d’Art Modern, Valencia, Spain; Long Museum, Shanghai, China; Yuz Foundation; Budi Tek Collection, Shanghai, China; DSL Foundation, Paris, France; Arario Museum, Seoul/Jeju, Korea; Initial Access; Square Gallery of Contemporary Art, Nanjing, China; Himalayas Art Museum, Shanghai, China; etc.

 

 

ABOUT THE CURATOR

Cui Cancan is an active Chinese independent curator. He was the winner of the CCAA (Chinese Contemporary Art Award) Critics’ Award, Critics’ Award in Chinese contemporary art by YISHU (Journal of Contemporary Chinese Art), the annual award by L’OFFICIEL Art and so on. He was also appointed special observer for the 13th Kassel Documenta. As a curator, Cui contributed to the success of major exhibitions including Heiqiao Night Away (2013), FUCKOFF II (2013), Unlived by What is Seen (2014), Ai Weiwei solo exhibition (2015), etc.

 

Venue

Other Events

Halaayt : Passages of Transcendence

Hoon Kwak exhibition

Gallery: Pearl Lam Galleries Hong Kong

Artist(s): Hoon Kwak

Opening / Event Date: 27 Sep, 2019

Closing / End Date: 3 Jan, 2020

Ryuji Tanaka

Gallery: Axel Vervoordt Gallery

Artist(s): Ryuji Tanaka

Opening / Event Date: 19 Oct, 2019

Closing / End Date: 1 Feb, 2020

‘Notes On The Future’

sq banner_new

Gallery: Karin Weber Gallery

Opening / Event Date: 7 Nov, 2019

Closing / End Date: 20 Dec, 2019