Loading 活動

« 所有活動

Women Gaze

詳情

開始:
2021年03月4日
結束:
2021年04月25日
活動類別:
, ,
網站:
https://www.lagalerie.hk/

展覽開幕:2021年3月4⽇(星期四)晚上6時30分至9時 *RSVP

出席藝術家:Anat Givon,劉衛


Women

La Galerie 深感榮幸地向各位呈獻四位女性攝影藝術家的藝術聯展。是次展覽帶出兩位新生代香港藝術家 Kayee C 劉衛的獨特觀點。她們同樣在香港出生並具有實踐藝術的國際經驗。

Anat Givon Catherine Henriette 分別出⽣於以⾊列和法國,並在亞洲⽣活了多年。前攝影記者的經歷和養分灌溉了她們倆的創作。

Perspectives

Kayee C 和劉衛的作品就她們對社會的個人看法,探討和審視自我及社會身份的認同。透過熟悉又離奇的情景,兩位藝術家建構和敘述個人與身處環境的關係。

劉衛將現實與虛構的英雄人物巧妙地融合在⼀起,或將過去的圖像重塑當下。而 Kayee C 從歷史畫作中得到靈感,以製作虛構的場景與拼貼⾃⼰的個人圖像創作。兩者對當代都提出了疑問:我們在社會中的角⾊是誰?我們期望什麼?以及我們被期望成為誰?

Anat Givon 和 Catherine Henriette 將身邊環境中的美轉化成摄⼈⼼魄的影像。前攝影記者 Anat Givon 以超現實⼿法詮釋了香港城市風光的活⼒,並向觀眾傳達了她的觀察下產⽣的強烈情感。Catherine Henriette 在平和與寧靜之中展現中國自然風光的美麗之處,悄悄地揭示了她對中國三十年來經濟,⽂化和社會發展的洞察和了解。

長久以來,攝影領域⼀直由男性主導。作為攝影記者和藝術家,這四位女性通過作品提出了她們對這個世代的各種疑問。


Kayee C
藝術攝影師 Kayee 於香港出生,在十年前移居法國。她運用自拍像及數碼合成技術,創造充滿故事性的圖像,從中探索人際關係中不同層面的互動模式。她的作品呈現種種幽默、戲劇性又或是充滿憂鬱的場面,盡顯人類互動時千變萬化的可能性。

她最喜歡的主題是社會隔閡與渴望連繫的矛盾。她嘗試以批判、另類、時而詩意的方式呈現我們建立關係的模式。Kayee 的作品可以視作一篇整體的敘述,同時每一件作品都有個別的故事。觀看者可以自由篇排作品的觀看次序,創造屬於個人的敘述。Kayee 的攝影作品大多都是受到古典畫作的啟發。

Kayee 的作品於2020年在羅馬、威尼斯和格拉斯哥展出。

 

劉衛
劉衛出生於香港,現在於香港及紐約工作。劉氏的作品透過攝影、錄像、繪畫和裝置探索有關於種族、性別和歸屬的概念在身份構成當中的多重結構。她試圖通過個人及歷史檔案、電影圖像、流行文化和數碼媒體來探索歷史、虛構敘事、個人記憶和虛擬性如何在身份凝塑的過程中互相碰撞並產生影響。

她的作品被 M+(香港)、休斯頓美術館(美國)及 Alexander Tutsek – Stiftung 基金會(德國)等收藏。她的作品於歐洲、亞洲及美國均有展出,包括 KunstmuseumBrandts(丹麥)、上海當代藝術博物館(上海)、Para Site 藝術空間(香港)、大館當代美術館(香港)、關渡雙年展(台灣)、越後妻有大地藝術祭(日本)、休斯頓美術館(美國)以及橫濱三年展(日本)。

 

Anat Givon
Anat Givon 出生於以色列。身為新聞攝影記者的她於 1997 年來到香港,紀錄香港主權移交的歷史時刻。因工作緣故,她也曾走訪中東及南亞地區,報導題材包括體育,也包括政治或經濟引起的暴力衝突,以致 Anat 拍下無數令人痛心的畫面。

經歷多年見證著暴力、死亡及破壞的場面,還有世界的成長及發展,Anat 現在運用她純熟的攝影技巧及她對創作的熱情,創造別具特色的藝術攝影作品。脫離了新聞攝影的「客觀」框架,Anat 的作品都是個人對環境的詮釋。

「新聞攝影教會我謹慎地在決定性的時刻按下快門,捕捉最多故事元素集合在取景器中的一刻(…)但是我想要做到更多,我想把被捕捉的瞬間帶往另一個層次,我想讓觀看者感受我在拍攝當下的情感。就是這樣,我脫離了新聞攝影的客觀性,並把數碼編輯工具引入作品中。」— Anat Givon

透過數碼圖像編輯及拼合技巧,Anat 為她的作品注入超現實的視覺元素,同時保留構圖、光學和色彩等傳統攝影美學,創造出有著獨特風格的作品。

 

Catherine Henriette
生於1960年,法國圖盧茲。 Catherine Henriette 居住於巴黎及巴斯克。學習了中文以後,Catherine Henriette 於1985年到達北京,並開始了攝影記者的職業生涯。她現在於法國居住和工作。

約三十年的光陰流轉,Catherine Henriette 一直在觀察中國的經濟,文化和社會發展。在國家動盪不斷的三十年中,事情發展得很快,甚或可能有點太快。她看到了景觀和城市的變遷,它們受到了破壞及變得疏離,一切都以發展和利益之名給犧牲了。作為一代狂潮的見證者,Catherine Henriette 以她的徠卡相機把時間凝固到膠片上。她以現代中國作為背景,捕捉了消失中的視點和人物,把移動中像海市蜃樓般的幻影給拍攝下來。

「耐心等待那純粹的線條和輪廓,和那微妙的影像呈現……就像是一個介於現實和我的想像之間的一個故事。」– Catherine Henriette

在《冬天的故事》作品系列,Catherine Henriette 選擇了中國東北的松花江,這是一張巨大的空白頁和帷幕,讓她試圖捕捉中國北方的生活。Catherine Henriette 於北方寒冷的天氣中苦候孩子們到學校上學,工人們出門上班, 帶著她那朦朧又疲憊的身體,從一個地方到另一個地方。她跟隨著漁民穿越在河流的冰洞之間,也遇到了老人和孩子們帶著自製的風箏。

Catherine Henriette 回到中國北方的海灘,拍攝《夏天的故事》系列,當地曾經是她在北京學生時期的避暑勝地。沙灘那些歡欣和愉快的泳客,以及她對一度熟悉的海邊那種細膩的觀察,Catherine Henriette 將那看似永遠美好的氛圍拍攝下來,彷彿時光一直都停留在那個快樂的悠長假期。

經過一段精彩的新聞攝影職業生涯後,Catherine 現在從事藝術創作。她在 2015 年以《冬天的故事、夏天的故事》(Conte d’Hiver, Conte d’été)系列獲得法蘭西藝術院獎項,並在歐洲各國展出該系列作品。

地點

其他活動

來蘇之望 – 新巴黎畫派

螢幕快照 2020-12-14 下午12.01.15

畫廊: 維爾潘畫廊

藝術家: 彼埃·蘇拉吉、喬治·馬修、漢斯·哈同、尼古拉·德·斯塔埃爾、尚·杜布菲、讓-保羅·里奧佩爾、趙無極

開幕日期: 23 Nov, 2020

閉幕日期: 23 Apr, 2021

破冰2020 ——香港當代藝術展

hkaga拷貝

畫廊: 天趣當代藝術館

藝術家: 朱達誠、林天行、呂豐雅、王守清、沈平、林鳴崗、許恩琦

開幕日期: 31 Dec, 2020

閉幕日期: 30 Apr, 2021

友誼之歌:丁雄泉和山姆·弗朗西斯

SONY DSC

畫廊: 藝倡畫廊

藝術家: 丁雄泉, 山姆·弗朗西斯

開幕日期: 19 Jan, 2021

閉幕日期: 30 Apr, 2021

Loading Events

« All Events

Women Gaze

Exhibition details

Start:
4 March, 2021
End:
25 April, 2021
Event Category:
, , ,
Website:
https://www.lagalerie.hk/

Opening reception: 4 March 2021 | 6.30 – 9pm *RSVP

Artist present: Anat Givon, Lau Wai


Women

La Galerie chooses to exhibit works by four women photographers.

LAU Wai and Kayee C express the unique viewpoints of the new generation. They were both born in Hong Kong and with international experience.

Anat Givon and Catherine Henriette were born in Israel and France respectively, and lived in Asia for years. Both nourished their artworks with their former experiences as photojournalists.

Perspectives

The works by LAU Wai and Kayee C show a very personal perspective on our society, questioning both self and social identities. Both artists construct narratives of oneself and the connection with our surroundings through familiar yet uncanny scenarios.

While LAU Wai mixes reality with fictional heroes or past images with reinvented present, Kayee C plays with her own images by setting up fictional scenarios inspired by historical paintings. Both reveal a contemporary questioning: Who are we in our society? What do we expect? And who we are being expected to be?

Catherine Henriette and Anat Givon find the inner beauty of our environment and transform our present moment into art pieces, revealing its inner value. Catherine Henriette questions our modern changes and enhances the beauty of China, while Anat Givon researches pure aesthetic emotion immersed in the vibrant city of Hong Kong.

The field of photography has long been dominated by men. As photojournalists and artists, these four women show their engagement in our contemporary questioning.


Kayee C
Kayee C is a fine art photographer born and raised in Hong Kong before relocating to France a decade ago. She uses techniques of self-portrait and digital composite to create storytelling images to explore the dynamics of relationships on different levels. Her works can be humorous, dramatic or melancholic staging of a variety of human interactions.

Her favourite subject above all is the paradox between social disconnect and our desire to belong. She attempts to offer a critical, offbeat and sometimes poetic look on the way we relate to each other. Kayee’s works can be seen as a whole narrative piece in which each element tells its own story. Many of the photos were inspired by classical paintings.

Kayee’s works were exhibited in Rome, Venice (Italy) and Glasgow (Scotland) in 2020.

 

Lau Wai
Born in Hong Kong, Lau Wai currently lives and works in New York and Hong Kong. Her work utilizes photography, video, drawing, and installation exploring the multilateral constructions of identity in relation to race, gender, and the notion of belonging. She attempts to investigate how history, fiction, personal memory, and virtuality collided in the process of identity formation through personal and historical archives, cinematic imagery, popular culture, and digital media.

Lau’s work are in the permanent collections at M+ (Hong Kong); The Museum of Fine Arts, Houston (United States), among others. She has exhibited in Europe, Asia, and the United States, including Kunstmuseum Brandts (Denmark); Power Station of Art (Shanghai); Para Site (Hong Kong); Tai Kwun Contemporary (Hong Kong); Kuandu Biennale (Taiwan); Echigo-Tsumari Art Triennale (Japan); The Museum of Fine Arts, Houston (United States) and Yokohama Triennale 2020 (Japan), among others.

 

Anat Givon
Born in Israel, Anat Givon came to Hong Kong as a press photographer to cover the 1997 Handover. She now lives and works in Hong Kong.

Having also reported from conflict zones and documenting anything from violent conflicts through politics and economics, to sports, in the Middle East and throughout South East Asia; many of Anat’s pictures have told the world of some harrowing stories. After years of witnessing and portraying violence, death and destruction as well as growth and development through her camera lens, Anat now uses her talent and passion to create innovative pieces of art that are subjective and can be enjoyed as personal interpretations rather than “objective” journalistic accounts.

“From photojournalism I learnt the discipline of capturing an event in one frame taken at the exact, decisive moment when as many of the story’s elements are assembled in the viewfinder (…) But then I wanted to do more, I wanted to take the captured image further, I wanted it to convey to the viewer what I felt at the moment of taking the picture. That’s where I depart from the objectivity of photojournalism and the use of digital tools enters the picture.”

Combining and manipulating images through digital art Anat introduces, a somewhat surrealistic twist to her distinctive work whilst still relying on basic photographic aesthetics of proportions within a set frame, play of light and shadow, saturated colours or monochromes, to transform images into unique art.

 

Catherine Henriette
Born in 1960 in France, Catherine Henriette studied Photography and Chinese. She lived in China between 1985 and 1991 and began a career as a press photographer. She now lives and works in France.

For around thirty years, Catherine has been observing China, with its economic, cultural and social evolution. Thirty years in which the pulse of the country has been rising, things have been moving so fast. As a firsthand witness to this frenzy, Catherine paused time with her Leica camera and rolls of film. With the modern China as her backdrop, she has captured the vanishing points and figures, and photographed them like a shifting mirage.

“The patient waiting for pure lines and outlines, the subtle constancy of the emerging image… It was like a tale halfway between reality and my imagination.”

In her Conte d’hiver (Winter tale) series, Catherine Henriette chose Songhua River in the northeast of China, an immense blank page or backdrop for her attempt to capture life in the Chinese north. Struggling with the freezing cold weather of the north, Catherine Henriette waited for the children to leave for school and workers set-off for work, travelling from one place to another lingered with her hazy and tired body. She trailed the fishermen between ice holes crisscrossing the river. Catherine Henriette revisited the beaches of northern China to photograph the Conte d’été (Summer tale) series. With her keen observation on the pleasant beach bathers and the seaside once she was familiar with, Catherine Henriette has captured the seemingly eternally good-nature of the atmosphere, as if time has been frozen in a wonderful long vacation.

After a brilliant career as press photographer, she now focuses on her artistic creation. Catherine won the Prix de l’Académie des beaux-Arts, Paris, 2015 for Conte d’Hiver, Conte d’Eté and exhibited this work all around Europe.

Venue

Other Events

The Art of Hope: New School of Paris

螢幕快照 2020-12-14 下午12.01.15

Gallery: Villepin

Artist(s): Pierre Soulages, Georges Mathieu, Hans Hartung, Nicolas de Staël, Jean Dubuffet, Jean Paul Riopelle, Zao Wou-Ki

Opening / Event Date: 23 Nov, 2020

Closing / End Date: 23 Apr, 2021

Breakthrough 2020 – Master of Art in Hong Kong

hkaga

Gallery: Art of Nature Contemporary Gallery

Artist(s): ChuTat Shing ,Lam Tianxing ,Eddie Liu, Wong Sao Ching, Shen Ping, Lam Man Kong, Hui Yan Ki

Opening / Event Date: 31 Dec, 2020

Closing / End Date: 30 Apr, 2021

Celebrating a Friendship: Walasse Ting and Sam Francis

SONY DSC

Gallery: Alisan Fine Arts

Artist(s): Walasse Ting, Sam Francis

Opening / Event Date: 19 Jan, 2021

Closing / End Date: 30 Apr, 2021