Loading 活動

« 所有活動

群展《筆觸之外》

詳情

開始:
2022年08月20日
結束:
2022年10月29日
活動類別:
, ,
網站:
https://www.axel-vervoordt.com/gallery/exhibitions/tsuyoahi-maekawa-hk

「此一畫收盡鴻蒙之外,即億萬筆墨,未有不始於此而終於此,惟聽人之握取之耳。」

——石濤,清代畫家、書法家及哲學家

石濤在他撰寫的《畫語錄》一書中挑戰固有體制,表達繪畫中更為原始的能量——一道道自成一體的筆觸。石濤認為藝術家應該能夠通過每一個線條來表達宇宙中的萬事萬物。藝術家將思想孕育在身體之中,然後傳遞到筆尖,最後到墨水,以實現他們的精神滋養。一筆一劃甚至應該體現藝術家的道德修養。

群展《筆觸之外》通過展示藝術家獨特的視覺表達方式,進一步闡述了筆觸如何超越它們自身的局限性,同時體現出藝術家的自我修養。本次展覽匯集8位元藝術家的作品,包括尹亨根(Yun Hyong-Keun)、正延正俊(Masatoshi Masanobu)、李禹煥(Lee U-fan)、萊蒙德·格爾克(Raimund Girke)、沈忱(Shen Chen)、蜜雪兒·墨菲(Michelle Mouffe)、辻村史朗(Shiro Tsujimura)和香港藝術家韋邦雨(Pong Yu Wai),著重於他們對創造性語言及姿態的獨特創作方法,如塗鴉、線條和書法等。作為香港畫廊協會夏季項目的一部分,畫廊特別邀請韋邦雨參展,與畫廊代理藝術家之間產生對話。該年度專案關注本地藝術界,在社區內對本地人才產生積極影響,由畫廊提供強大的平台,讓藝術家展示他的重要作品。

一條原始的線條不僅僅是一道筆劃。它是某種更深層次的東西,造就了藝術家的自我修養和感知。通過闡明石濤的這一概念,展覽展現了藝術家們如何以他們獨有的方式與石濤的價值觀和智慧相聯繫,揭示出解放感、想像力和實現其無限的潛力。

香港藝術家韋邦雨(生於1982年)用圓珠筆的墨水在紙上創作,他將自己的情感和思想不斷地旋轉成一條線,並不斷疊加。他的持續性繪畫作品 《山水的韻律 》是一張12米乘2米的卷軸紙上繪畫,將被懸掛在畫廊的天花板上,佔據空間的主要位置。它代表了他在香港豐富的歷史中對香港當前社會環境的個人反應,通過畫非常精細的細線來描繪一種集體的力量。韋邦雨的視覺語言就像水一樣流動,細微地顯示出宇宙的短暫性。在展覽期間,韋邦雨會將他的工作室延伸到畫廊空間,每天都在此繼續創作。

在韋邦雨的繪畫形成對話的是尹亨根(1928 – 2007)的紙上繪畫。他通過柔和、慢慢褪去的色彩,以及藍色和焦褐色的簡單線條組合來追求內心的情感和美學。色彩迅速滲透到紙張中,在線條周圍形成模糊的邊緣。尹亨根的兩幅紙上作品中所表達的色彩和線條,充滿了謙虛和與自然和諧相處的文人精神,這是一種高尚的儒家哲學。尹亨根的藝術創作過程是冥想和有機的,類似於水滲入土壤的過程。

沈忱(生於1955年)創作的大型畫作中蘊含著數千條筆觸。作為當代中國抽象水墨和實驗水墨畫的先驅,沈忱捕捉到水墨和畫布上空白空間的和諧。他運用自己對中國傳統水墨畫的廣泛技巧和知識,創造了一種虛實之間的抽象。沈忱的畫作散發出一種強烈的禪修的意境,他在有規律地重複描繪線條的同時,通過調節自己的呼吸,將自己的精力和注意力反映在畫布之上。

展覽將展出李禹煥(生於1936年)的早期陶土作品《Tsuchi ni yo ru》(1986)。這位韓國藝術家和物派運動的主要人物之一通過該系列實驗原土的物質性,也就是 標題中”Tsuchi “的翻譯。在陶土表面的每一個彎曲的筆觸都顯得重複而流暢,以一種肯定存在性的方式移動。從左到右,李在陶土上創造出原始的線條,精妙地與空間關係相聯繫。

塗鴉的手法和較為直接的表達方式,恰好代表了正延正俊(1911 – 1995)解放自己的獨特方式。作為具體藝術協會的創始成員之一,團體的理念是「做沒有人做過的事」。他因此創造了以多層油彩和琺瑯融合而成的塗鴉作品,藉此呈現表達、流動、震動等主題。這些手法都是自然而成的,就好像他在日本戰後的大阪能夠完全自由地創作藝術一樣。

能夠畫好一條線可以說是對藝術家的一種肯定,它代表著藝術家心態上的整體性和複雜性。萊蒙德·格爾克(1930 – 2002)的作品對線條表達了強烈的情感,他借鑒了道家思想的陰陽哲學。這個中國傳統概念是指在這個未知的宇宙中,任何事物都包含著既相互對立,又平衡共存的陰陽方面,正如光明只能夠在黑暗的地方脫穎而出。在他的畫作 《Schnelles Weiss》(1997)中,題目可以譯為「快速的白色」,白色的線條以幾何的方式組合在一起,然後以一種完全抽象的方式,似乎充滿了整個畫布。

石濤的畫論受到了一代又一代藝術家和學者的廣泛關注,蜜雪兒·墨菲(Michel Mouffe,生於1957年)就曾多次以「石濤」命名自己的作品。展覽中的這件繪畫靈感來自於被授予諾貝爾和平獎的社會活動家劉曉波。墨菲的創作過程有一種皮膚般的質感。皮膚作為人類的表層,既是我們邊界的保護,也是敏感的開口;它微妙地揭示了一部分隱藏在畫布後面顫抖或突起的輪廓。線條和色彩的較量被擱置一旁,以便這兩個元素可以攜手合作。

辻村史朗(生於1947年)作為高度多產和精力充沛的當代陶藝家和書法家,他的作品標題充滿著詩意與大地和雪等短暫的自然元素聯繫在一起。辻村史朗的書法筆觸表達了他強烈的藝術衝動。作為當代陶藝家和書法家,辻村的詩意標題與自然界的短暫性有關,如 「大地」和 「雪」,但又充滿活力。這些作品創造於2013年在畫廊比利時空間的現場表演中。

地點

其他活動

丹尼迪明畫廊 野蠻與馴化

re2

藝術家: Jessie Edelman, L, Natalie Lo Lai Lai, Dana Sherwood, Greer Howland Smith, Paula Wilson

開幕日期: 11 Jun, 2022

閉幕日期: 3 Sep, 2022

The Wild and the Tame

re2

畫廊: 群展《筆觸之外》

藝術家: Jessie Edelman, L, Natalie Lo Lai Lai, Dana Sherwood, Greer Howland Smith, Paula Wilson

開幕日期: 11 Jun, 2022

閉幕日期: 3 Sep, 2022

趙無極

ZWK 2022Web Banner-01

畫廊: 藝倡畫廊

藝術家: 趙無極

開幕日期: 15 Jun, 2022

閉幕日期: 9 Sep, 2022

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Group exhibition, Brushstrokes and Beyond

Exhibition details

Start:
20 August, 2022
End:
29 October, 2022
Event Category:
Website:
https://www.axel-vervoordt.com/gallery/exhibitions/tsuyoahi-maekawa-hk

“One-stroke contains the universe and beyond; thousands and myriads of strokes and ink all begin here and end here, waiting only for one to take advantage of it.” — Shitao

In a treatise on painting titled, Huayulu (画語録), Shitao criticises the establishment and seeks to convey something more primal in a painting — a single, holistic brushstroke. Shitao’s work proclaims that the artist should be able to show the universe in a way that one profound line integrates everything, embracing the artist’s mind to the body then to the brush and finally to ink, to achieve their spiritual nourishment. One stroke should even reflect the artist’s moral cultivation.

The group exhibition, Brushstroke and Beyond, exemplifies artists’ self-cultivation by demonstrating their unique visual expressions to further elaborate how one stroke can extend beyond their limitations. The works of eight artists — Yun Hyong-keun, Masatoshi Masanobu, Lee Ufan, Raimund Girke, Shen Chen, Michel Mouffe, Shiro Tsujimura, and Hong Kong artist Pong Yu Wai — are focussed on their expansive approach to creative language gestures, such as scribble, line, and calligraphy. The gallery invites Pong Yu Wai to participate in this exhibition as a part of Hong Kong Gallery Association’s Summer Program, which is the annual project which focuses on the local art scene and creating a positive impact on the local talent within the community by allowing the artist to present his major works to embody his strong platform in the gallery.

A primordial line is not merely a single stroke. It is something more cardinal that forms an artist’s sensitivity and cultivation. By illuminating Shitao’s one-stroke concept, this exhibition demonstrates how artists connect with Shitao’s values and wisdom, and extensively elaborate their unique ways to show a sense of liberation, imagination, and achieving their boundless potential.

Pong Yu Wai (b. 1982) has developed his oeuvre with ink from a ballpoint pen on paper, spinning the thread of his emotion and mind continuously with one line as it multiplies rhythmically. His lifelong drawing work, “Rhythm of landscape”, is a 12-by-2 metre scrolling paper hung from the ceiling, which dominates the gallery’s main room. It represents his personal response to Hong Kong’s current social circumstances amid the city’s rich history. A collective force is depicted by drawing very fine and thin lines, yet Pong Yu’s visual language is as fluid as water, gently showing the ephemerality of the universe. During the exhibition, Pong Yu extends his studio to the gallery, continuing to create the work every day.

Presented in dialogue with Pongyu’s drawing, Yun Hyoung-keun’s (1928 – 2007) sentiments and aesthetics are further investigated by muted, receded colors, and simple composition of bold strips of line in ultramarine and burnt umber. The colour permeates into the papers quickly and creates blurred margins around the strips of line. The colours and lines that Yun expressed on two works on paper imbued with the Seonbi / Sunbi spirit of modesty and harmony with the nature, a noble Confucian philosophy. The process of Yun’s art making is meditative and organic akin to water seeping into the soil.

The painting which consists of thousands of traces of lines created by Shen Chen (b. 1955), embraces the spectators. A contemporary pioneer of Chinese abstract and experimental ink painting, Chen captures the harmony of ink and the blank white space of the canvas. Using his extensive techniques and knowledge of traditional Chinese ink painting, Chen creates an abstraction between fullness and nothingness. In a disciplined act of repetition, Chen’s painting is highly meditative. Regulating his breathing, Chen’s energy and concentration reflected on the painting in each line.

The Gallery is pleased to present Lee Ufan (b. 1936)’s early terracotta work “Tsuchi ni yo ru” (1986). The South Korean artist and one of the leading figures of the Mono-ha movement experiments the materiality of raw earth, which is the translation of “Tsuchi”. Each curved stroke on the surface of the soil appears repetitive yet fluid, moving in a way that affirms a sense of existence. From the left to right, Lee creates the primordial lines on the terracotta, carefully undertaking it with regard to the relationship of the space.

Masatoshi Masanobu’s (1911 – 1995) unconventional way of liberating himself included gestural and intuitive scribbling of the highest quality. As a founding member of the Japanese avant-garde group Gutai, whose slogan was, “Do something that no one has done before”, Masatoshi’s work shows expression, movement, and vibration, often appearing as multiple layers of scribbles in oil paint and enamel. These gestures seem automatic, as though he created art out of total freedom.

Drawing a line can be a representation of the artists’ wholeness, complexity, and state of mind. With ardent strokes, Raimund Girke (1930 – 2002) respectfully borrows the dynamic process from Taoism and Yin and Yang. Two opposite elements in this unknown universe co-exists in balance, showing the darkness only distinguishable in brightness. In his painting “Schnelles Weiss” (1997), which is translated as fast white, the white-coloured lines group together analytically and geometrically, then completely abstractly in a way that they seem to fill the entire canvas.

Belgian artist Michel Mouffe (b. 1957) is renowned for balancing architectural construction from within the canvas to explore concepts of time, space, being, and spirituality. Mouffe’s paintings was inspired by “Liu Xiaobo” who was the social activist awarded Nobel Peace Prize have a rather skin-like feel due to his creation process. Skin, as the human’s veil, is both a protective shell and a public representation; it subtly reveals a part of the hidden inner self in a shiver or contour of protuberances emerging from behind the canvas. The artistic strive between line and colour has appeared as a multitude of layers that fused into Mouffe’s subtle brushstrokes, putting the two elements to work hand in hand.

The calligraphic strokes of Japanese artist Shiro Tsujimura (b. 1947) express his strong artistic impulses. As a contemporary potter and calligraphist, Tsujimura’s poetic titles are linked to the ephemerality of nature such as “Earth” and “Snow”, yet are highly prolific and energetic. These works were created in 2013 during a live performance in our gallery space in Belgium.

 

Venue

Other Events

Lime & Tangerine in a Wormhole

POSTER

Gallery: MOU PROJECTS

Artist(s): Tap Chan

Opening / Event Date: 12 Nov, 2022

Closing / End Date: 31 Dec, 2022