Loading 活動

« 所有活動

  • 此活動已過去

邵若然|與此同時

詳情

開幕日期:
2023年10月28日
時間:
11:00 am - 7:00 pm
閉幕日期:
2023年12月2日
活動類別:
,
網站:
https://kiangmalingue.com/exhibitions/homer-shew-meanwhile/

馬凌畫廊榮譽呈現「與此同時」,展出紐約藝術家邵若然新近創作的肖像作品。此次展覽描繪的部分人物也曾出現在2021年邵若然「背景」展覽作品之中。在第一幅肖像問世多年後重新為親近友人繪製肖像,邵若然的新作因而展示了一種獨特的時間維度。專注於再現亞裔美國人面貌的藝術家持續探索此特定族群的社會肌理和連結元素,觀察每個個體的成長與變化。

邵若然曾在2021年為普利策獎得主徐華繪製肖像;作為後者的忠實讀者,邵若然認為徐華是一位極為優異的亞裔美國作家。邵若然在此次「與此同時」展覽中呈現了第二幅以徐華為對象的肖像畫《徐華 II》,在前作基礎上催生有機的形象發展。徐華在新作中仍然身著夏威夷襯衫——這也讓邵若然得以肆意揮霍其繪製植物和枝葉的興趣——以放鬆且沈靜的坐姿參與一次友好的對話,注視坐在其對面的友人。這幅肖像不再忠實地反映模特的種族特徵,而是在很大程度上模糊了模特的身份:透過遮陽棚照射徐華的太陽讓他膚色黝黑;他戲劇性地蓬鬆的頭髮與背景中的植物型態相呼應;雙眼因誠摯和熱情而放大、有神——更為鬆弛自然的人物形象與紐約街景合而為一,又輕易地脫離了城市的喧囂。《徐華 II》並沒有過分強調這出色的作家在過去幾年中的外貌變化,而是展示了這一點:藝術家以愈發肆意的方式描繪其友人,而友人因此進一步脫離了種族身份敘事的制約。

邵若然為生活工作於波哥大的藝術家凱文同樣繪製了第二幅肖像——其他二次肖像還包括《布蘭頓·黑木 II》(2023)、《吳暉 II》(2023)及《李恩福 II 》——《凱文 II》也以同樣的方式探索重複面孔的意義:凱文在這幅新作品中戴著同一條頭巾,穿著藍色格子襯衫,甚至配戴了同樣的項鍊。邵若然在兩年後自如地回想面貌依舊的友人,強調了畫面中的光影對比關係和自由的筆觸。纖瘦的凱文在這幅畫中直接朝觀者走來,在邵若然的筆下顯得既熱情又慵懶。畫面左下方的「尊重」事實上是某武術工作室門臉的一部分,這同時也表達了邵若然對其友人的情感。

《許靜雯與林田祖》(2023)是「與此同時」展覽中最大尺幅的繪畫作品,也是一幅罕見的雙人肖像畫作。邵若然捕捉了充滿愛意和玩樂意味的畫面,為襯托情侶形象完整地描繪了車輛、樹木等周遭環境,甚至還有午餐地點的標示——紐約皇后區45街。被著重處理的人物面孔體現了藝術家對精神面貌的關注,以及其對具象中的抽象形式的長期興趣。

(關於邵若然)

邵若然在1990年生於芝加哥,在2021年畢業於巴德學院,現生活工作於紐約市。他從2015年開始創作亞裔美國人的肖像繪畫——在其華裔父親看來,亞裔美國人的形象是不堪入畫的。作為一名華裔美國人,邵若然創作的作品以獨特的族群內部視角探索了重新審美化處理亞洲面孔的藝術實踐,或去臉譜化藝術實踐的當代意義。邵若然在2012年於巴德學院獲得視覺藝術學士學位。他曾參加以下機構舉辦的展覽:CP Project Space,視覺藝術學院(紐約);海德公園藝術中心(芝加哥);Silent Barn(布魯克林),及巴德學院(哈得遜河畔安嫩代爾)。邵若然參加了MOCA美國華人博物館舉辦的展覽「響應:美國亞裔抵抗種族歧視潮流的呼聲」(紐約),展出由該館委託創作的系列大型繪畫。邵若然曾在芝加哥及懷俄明州普雷斯頓牧場參加駐留項目,並將於2021年11月參加紐約州奧斯特利茨 The Millay Colony For the Arts 駐留項目。

地點

其他活動

王濛莎:織影

106x102

畫廊: 藝倡畫廊(中環)

藝術家: 王濛莎

開幕日期: 13 Dec, 2023

閉幕日期: 16 Mar, 2024

「猜情尋」五位香港與澳門年輕藝術家聯展

Exhibition Poster_Seeking Connections_2024.01.05_Final

畫廊: 3812 畫廊

藝術家: 陳頌欣,霍凱盛,關蓉而,賴韋林,劉詩敏

開幕日期: 18 Jan, 2024

閉幕日期: 28 Feb, 2024

郭彥甫個展「矚目」

x

畫廊: WKM Gallery

藝術家: 郭彥甫

開幕日期: 20 Jan, 2024

閉幕日期: 2 Mar, 2024

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Homer Shew | Meanwhile

Exhibition details

Opening / Event Date:
28 October, 2023
Time:
11:00 am - 7:00 pm
Closing / End Date:
2 December, 2023
Event Category:
,
Website:
https://kiangmalingue.com/exhibitions/homer-shew-meanwhile/

Kiang Malingue is pleased to present “Meanwhile”, an exhibition of Homer Shew’s recent portraits. This is the New York-based artist’s second exhibition in Hong Kong since Backgrounds in 2021, including a number of portraits based on the same sitter years after the first portraits were made, adding a poignant temporal dimension to the artworks. Focusing on depicting Asian Americans, Shew continues to explore the social fabric and contiguous elements of the community as individuals inside it continue to grow and change.

Shew made a portrait for Pulitzer Prize winner Hua Hsu in 2021, whom he admires as an exceptional Asian American writer. For the current exhibition, Shew created Hua Hsu II (2023), an organic development from the previous portrait. Hsu is seen once again donning a Hawaiian shirt — a fortuitous opportunity for Shew to fully express his liking for plants and leaves — in a relaxed, sitting pose, calmly looking away from the viewer as he is engaged in a friendly conversation. In a strange and playful way, the depiction moves away from a classic Asian American portrait that emphasises racial features to a portrayal that obfuscates the racial identity of the sitter: Hsu’s skin tone darkens under the sun and the awning shade while his hair attains a dramatic jaggedness that echoes the arboreal elements in the background, eyes lit and widened with sincerity and enthusiasm. No longer frozen in a staged pose, Hsu is here naturally integrated with his surrounding environment, at once metamorphosing into and out of the New York streetscape behind. Hua Hsu II shows that the writer has not changed but has for the artist become an endearing subject who goes beyond the necessity of racial descriptions.

Shew’s second portrait of Bogota-based artist Charlie Mai, among other two-timers including Brandon Blackwood II (2023), Simon II (2023) and Chantal II (2023), functions in the same way: Mai is, in this slightly smaller painting, wearing the same bandana and blue checkered shirt, and even the same necklaces. Charlie Mai II (2023) made two years after the first piece unapologetically revisits the sitter in the same look, intensifying the chiaroscuro and the expressive handling of the subject. The slender artist friend in Charlie Mai II directly approaches the viewer, producing under Shew’s unexpected brushwork a friendly expression that is as intent as it is languid. The inscription of “respect”, a fragment from the awning of a martial arts studio at the bottom left corner of the painting also conveys Shew’s feelings for the sitter.

Karen and Tenn Joe (2023) is the largest painting in the exhibition and a rare double portrait with two sitters. Capturing the affectionate, playful scene, Shew fully contextualises the couple by surrounding them with traffic, trees and the location of the lunch — 45th street, Queens, New York. The unmistakable focus on the faces testifies to the artist’s interest in exploring visages, and in discerning the inherently abstract and gestural within representation.

(About Homer Shew)

Born in Chicago in 1990, Homer Shew graduated from the Bard College in 2012, and is presently based in New York City. Since 2015, he has been painting portraits of Asian Americans that are, in his father’s words, improper subjects for oil painting. As a Chinese American, Shew has since been making paintings that deal with the re-aestheticisation and de-caricaturisation of Asian faces, from a perspective that is singularly immanent. Homer Shew earned his B.A. in Visual Art from Bard College in 2012. He has exhibited paintings at the CP Project Space at SVA (New York, NY), The Hyde Park Art Center (Chicago, IL), The Silent Barn (Brooklyn, NY), and Bard College (Annandale-on-Hudson, NY). He has participated the exhibition Responses: Asian American Voices Resisting the Tide of Racism at the Museum of Chinese in America (New York, NY), in which a series of Shew’s large-scale commissioned paintings are on view. Shew has completed residencies in Chicago and Preston Ranch, WY, and will be an artist-in-residence at The Millay Colony For the Arts (Austerlitz, NY) from November 2021.

Venue

Other Events

Mellow doubt

visual-joe-2

Gallery: JPS Gallery

Artist(s): Joe Cheetham

Opening / Event Date: 15 Nov, 2023

Closing / End Date: 9 Dec, 2024

Angel Vergara, Acts and paintings, Hong Kong

A0923.035_Tai Tam Acte 1

Gallery: Axel Vervoordt Gallery

Artist(s): Angel Vergara

Opening / Event Date: 18 Nov, 2023

Closing / End Date: 16 Mar, 2024

Wang Mengsha: Whispering Blossoms

106x102

Gallery: Alisan Fine Arts (Central)

Artist(s): Wang Mengsha

Opening / Event Date: 13 Dec, 2023

Closing / End Date: 16 Mar, 2024